Johor Bahru and Desaru Beach

My visit in Johor Bahru and Desaru Beach was very different from my other stops during my Malaysia trip. I visited a friends there and she showed me around her city, her university and all that Desaru Beach has to offer. While Johor Bahru was not my favourite place in Malaysia, my friend actually made it so much more special.

On of the places she showed me, I would have never visited, if it were not for her. The Universiti of Teknologi Malaysia (UTM), her university. My friend had a competition there, so a friend of hers showed me around the campus in the mean time. And boy, that campus was not just bigger than my universities, it had everything. Horses, deers, an observatory, hills, a park, two huge libraries, a swimming pool, a sports field, housing and, of course, lecture halls. In short, it is its own little city/universe. I am aware, that this is the same in other countries, in Austria, however, I have never encountered this, thus my amazement of it.

Within the city, my friend showed me Johor Old Chinese Temple, the temple where their Sultan goes for prayer, Legoland, although we only saw it from the outside, Puteri Harbour, Danga Bay and the huge crown in front of the Istana Bukit Serene.

My second to last day in Malaysia, as I left for Singapore the very next day, we spent at Desaru Beach, an ostrich farm, a fruit plantation as well as a crocodile farm. The perfect end to an amazing day was provided by this wonderful sunset.

My visit in Johor Bahru was certainly different, but nonetheless wonderful. Mostly because I got to see my friend again and the fact that she showed me around. Have you ever been to Johor Bahru or Desaru Beach? Would you recommend it? Let me know in the comments.

4 thoughts on “Johor Bahru and Desaru Beach”

    1. Hi. I thought Desaru Beach is beautiful. Unfortunately, there are islands off the coast of Johor Bahru, at least that I know of. Hope that helps you. 🙂

      Like

Comment here.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.